Society of the Study of the Short Story

The Society for the Study of the Short Story in English was chartered in 1992, following a first gathering of people interested in the writing and study of short stories, which took place at the Sorbonne in 1988. Later conferences were held in North America and Europe. Current board members are Clark Blaise, Bharati Mukherjee, Maurice A. Lee, Allan Weiss, Claire Larrière, Velma Pollard, Juani Guerra, and Teresa Alves. On the day before each conference, there is a Board Meeting of the Society, followed by a report to the conference participants, and a memorandum of operation to be handed out on the future plans for the society. Rules for membership, dues, goals and objectives are discussed and voted on. Time and place will be in the program and on the website.